Welcome to My New Journey

Online learning and teaching seems to be a bit mysterious to me, and possibly counterintuitive. After years of using my hands and all of my other senses to teach advanced lab courses, I am now creating online courses. It looks like I will be trying to teach new areas of science without all the tools I have used for years: pipettors, electophoresis equipment, saline solution, cell media, tubes, bottles and cells…even microscopes and slides. Too bad, really, because I’ve been very, very good at it! But times change and so will I.

With my recent foray into sharing my passion for science online at Joanne Loves Science, I think I have a chance to make it work. I’m a quick and astute learner and have many years of face to face (F2F) teaching behind me! Let’s see how I make this happen.

This blog will allow you to follow me (and even help me) as I sort through materials in how to teach online and the science I need to teach courses in “Bioinformatics and Genomics” and also “Evolution and Human Health”.

So welcome. I hope we have a grand time together. Unlike my other site, I will leave the blog posts open. I want, and possibly even need, your assistance and feedback!

4 responses to “Welcome to My New Journey

  1. Here are some free software packages you can use to create videos for lessons:

    CamStudio is able to record all screen and audio activity on your computer and create AVI video files and can turn those AVIs into streaming Flash videos (SWFs) .

    CreaToon is software to create 2D animation in the cut-out style.

    For creating the artwork, there is a free paint program called Gimp that works with graphics tablets and a free vector drawing program called Inkscape. Or, you can draw the artwork for the animations on paper and scan them.

    There is more complex free animation software but CreaToon is easy to use and was used by the BBC to create a children’s program.

    Audacity is a free sound-editor you can use to edit the audio for your animations.

    ZS4 is free video editing software.

    You can use CamStudio and the paint program Gimp with a graphics tablet to replace drawing on a blackboard. A company called Wacom makes graphics tablets that can be used with Gimp.

    Curriki is an organization that provides links to online learning material and a way to connect with other people creating educational content.

    OpenOffice can be used to create a PDF file for text books.

    Amazon has a service called CreateSpace which can publish books and DVDs on-demand and downloads for sale on Amazon’s website. If you write a text book, a school could either download the PDF from your website and print their own copies or they could order the books through CreateSpace if they wanted to help fund your content.

    • These are great suggestions. Thanks so much! Do you create online courses?

      • I’m a software developer.

        I’m interested in the social and economic change that can take place in developing and developed countries when you put an entire K-12 and post-secondary curriculum online.

Leave a Reply

